Availability: All plans
Note:You can only share document folders with collaborators. You can’t share template folders or content library folders.
How to share document folders
Sharing folders with collaborators is a perfect way to give access to multiple documents at once to users without a PandaDoc license or users on your account with lower permissions.
There are four ways you can share document folders with collaborators:
- Hover over a document folder on the left panel and click three vertical ellipses. Select Collaborate from the dropdown
- Hover over a document folder in the document list and select three vertical ellipses on the far right. Select Collaborate from the dropdown
- Select a document folder and click the small arrow next to its name in the breadcrumbs on top of the page. Select Collaborate from the dropdown
- Move a document or a folder to a shared folder. To do this Drag and drop a document/folder to an already shared folder or click three vertical ellipses on the right to the document/folder name and move it there by clicking Move from the dropdown.
Once you click Collaborate, in the pop-up, select users on your account from the dropdown or type emails of users who don’t have a license on your account and press “Tab” or “Enter” on your keyboard. When all collaborators are added select Send invitation.
Now you can modify their permissions in the same pop-up.
Note:You can only modify permissions from lower (can view and comment) to higher (can edit) in a nested folder.
Once you share a folder, the newly added collaborators will receive email notifications with invitations.
Working with shared document folders
Once you shared your folder, all new documents and folders created in it will inherit sharing settings. You’ll be unable to remove or lower user permission in a newly created nested folder inside a shared folder.
Collaborators can access all documents and document folders that were shared with them via the “Shared with me” folder.
When you try to move a document or a folder to a folder that was shared with collaborators, you’ll see a confirmation pop-up. Select Move and share to proceed.