Availability: All plans
The signing order feature helps you set up your document distribution list so that your document gets sent to one person at a time. The document will only be sent to the next person on the list once the previous signature (or any other field) is completed.
The best practice is to set up a signing order on your template (both editable and uploaded) so that all subsequent documents inherit this setting.
How to use the signing order
There's no way to change signing order once the document is sent.
Now click and drag the Roles (or Recipients) in the order you want them to receive the document.
Note:In case the document was shared via a link, the email notification will be sent to the next signer after the previous recipient completed their part.
Tips for placing CC roles/recipients
- Place a CC role before a signer role, and both of them will receive the notification email along with the document at the same time.
- Place a CC role after a signer role, and the CC will get notification email along with the document only after the signer completes it.
The previous recipient signed but next in line hasn’t received the document.
For the document to flow to the next person, the signer must sign and complete the document. They just need to click on Finish at the end of the signing process. You will receive a completion notification email and the next person in line will get the document.