Availability: All plans
Our transfer document ownership feature helps you easily re-assign a document to another user, regardless of the document’s status.
This feature transfers permission to view, edit, send, and receive notifications about a document to another user. Your dashboard and reporting will reflect the change in document ownership.
How to transfer document ownership
To transfer document ownership, start by going to your document list. Hover on the far right over the document for which you’d like to transfer ownership, click on the vertical ellipses, then choose Transfer ownership from the dropdown menu.
In the pop-up, start typing the name or email of the user who will become the document’s new owner.
Note:You can only transfer document ownership to a member of the workspace you're currently in.
Once you click the Transfer button, ownership of the document will be re-assigned. The document’s new owner will receive an email notification.
If the user who created the document has a Member role, they will lose access to the document once ownership is transferred. (You can learn more about account roles here.)
Can I transfer ownership of documents in multiple workspaces to another user?
Can I transfer ownership of multiple documents to another user?